Joseph King

Joseph King received a degree in Architecture from the University of Maryland (1983) and a Master of City Planning and a Master of Science in Historic Preservation from the University of Pennsylvania (1995). He also attended the Architectural Conservation Course at ICCROM (1991).  

Since 2004, he is the Unit Director of the Sites Unit at ICCROM, responsible for capacity building programmes for the conservation of immovable cultural heritage around the world.  He also leads a team of professionals in all aspects of ICCROM’s role as an Advisory Body to the World Heritage Committee.  Previously at ICCROM, he was a Senior Project Manager working on the AFRICA 2009 programme, a long-term regional programme for the conservation of immovable cultural heritage in Sub-Saharan Africa.  He was also involved in the development of the first Integrated Territorial and Urban Conservation course and the development and implementation of courses related to the conservation of stone, wood, and modern architecture.

Before joining ICCROM, he worked as a consultant to UNESCO on a project to write a conservation plan for the Old Town of Mombasa in Kenya.  He has also worked on projects related to urban planning and conservation in the United States and Italy. 

From 1999 – 2002 he served as Secretary-General of the ICOMOS International Training Committee.

Joseph King

Diplômé d’architecture de l’Université du Maryland en 1983, Joseph King est titulaire d’une maîtrise en urbanisme et d’une maîtrise en conservation historique de l'Université de Pennsylvanie (1995). Il a également suivi les Cours de conservation de l'architecture délivrés par l'ICCROM  en 1991.

Depuis 2004, il est Directeur de l'Unité « Sites » de l'ICCROM, responsable du programme de renforcement des capacités pour la conservation du patrimoine culturel immobilier dans le monde. Il dirige une équipe de professionnels spécialistes des différents aspects de la mission conduite par l'ICCROM en tant qu'organe consultatif placé auprès du Comité du Patrimoine mondial. Auparavant, il occupait les fonctions de directeur de projet principal pour le programme AFRICA 2009, un programme régional de long terme visant à la conservation du patrimoine culturel immobilier en Afrique subsaharienne pour le compte de l’ICCROM. Il a également participé au développement de la première session de cours sur la conservation intégrée territoriale et urbaine, comme à l'élaboration et à la tenue de cours sur la conservation de la pierre, du bois ou de l'architecture moderne.

Avant de rejoindre l'ICCROM, il a travaillé comme consultant pour l'UNESCO sur la conception d'un plan de conservation pour la vieille ville de Mombasa au Kenya. Il a également travaillé sur des projets liés à l'urbanisme et à la conservation aux États-Unis et en Italie.

De 1999 à 2002, il a été Secrétaire général du Comité international de formation de l'ICOMOS.